Upcoming Events

There are no scheduled events

New Mayor, new team


New Mayor,  new team

With the historic election Herman Mashaba as Executive Mayor, after a marathon Council session in the old City Hall, Johannesburg embarks on a new era.

Johannesburg has 135 wards. Under the proporional representation (PR) system there are 270 seats on the council. Of these , the DA has 104 seats, the ANC 121 and the EFF 30.

With the help of the EFF and smaller parties, the DA's Mashaba won  the mayoral election  by 144  votes to 125.

The arrangement between the DA and the EFF is not a coalition. The parties will have to work together.


Anthony Still is now Member of Mayoral Committee

Cllr Anthony Still, our previous Ward 90 Councillor, has been appointed as Member of the Mayoral Committee for environment and infrastructure services.

This is a large, important porfolio which includes Pikitup, City Power and Joburg Water, among others. Cllr Still is a former MD of Joburg Water.

 Eight of  the 10 members of Mayor Herman Mashaba’s Mayoral Committee are from the Democratic Alliance.

The transport and housing MMCs are Inkatha Freedom Party members.

  • Environment and Infrastructure Services: Anthony Still
  • Housing: Mzobanzi Ntuli
  • Transport: Nonhlanhla Helen Makhuba
  • Economic Development: Sharon Peetz
  • Development planning: Funzela Ngubeni
  • Community Development: Nonhlanhla Sifumba
  • Health and Social Development: Mpho Phalatse
  • Public Safety: Michael Sun
  • Finance: Rabelani Dagada
  • Corporate and Shared Services: Valencia Khumalo.

August 3 results

In the August 3 election results for Ward 90, available here goo.gl/ZxfNKy , the number of DA votes increased by 2598, with 83.44% of the Ward candidate vote, and 83.13% of the Proportional Representation list vote.

  Thank you for your support. Now let's work together to improve our ward.

Ward Committee

Each ward can elect a Ward Committee of up to 10 members. This can be one of many useful ways for the City to keep in touch  with ward-specific needs.

Previously, the election of Ward Committees has taken rather too long. Our new  administration, taking over a huge organisation, has a lot to arrange. But I am hoping we can get started with Ward Committee elections well within the prescribed 90 days.

Will keep you informed!

Ward 90 includes the following suburbs, or parts thereof: Clynton, Craighall, Craighall Park, Dunkeld, Dunkeld West, Glenadrienne, Hurlingham, Hyde Park, Illovo, Melrose, Parkmore, Riepen Park and Sandhurst.

Important Contacts

BEAGLE CONTROL ROOM: 011 678 1972 www.beaglewatch.co.za
HGC Committee: info@hurlingham.org.za security@hurlingham.org.za environment@hurlingham.org.za membership@hurlingham.org.za statements@hurlingham.org.za
Flying Squad: 10 111
Randburg SAPS vehicles: 071 675 7115 / 6
Ambulance: City: 011 375 5911
ER24: 084 124
Netcare 911: 082 911
Randburg Police: 011 449 9115 / 9110 / 9117 10111 for an emergency
Joburg Metro Police: ​011 375 5911
Ward Councillor: 083 459 6152 Martin Williams martcw7@gmail.com
Joburg call centre: 0860-JOBURG
Includes City Parks and Pikitup
See Community Info --> Overview section for a full list of numbers
Water Issues: Joburg Water

011 375 5555
Electricity Issues: http://​www.citypower.co.za ​and click "Fault Reporting" or on mobile http://citypower.mobi
Road Issues: ​hotline@jra.org.za
Environmental Contraventions: 011 587 4232 1st point of contact for any issues arising from the Health Act (noise, restaurants, unsanitary backyards etc) abednigot@joburg.org.za
Pollution: 011 226 8328 WisemanN@joburg.org.za
Revenue Queries: ​011 375 5555
Traffic Signs and Markings: Jurie Swart JRA - Assistant Manager, Traffic Signs and Markings section for Region B jswart@jra.org.za
Region B Contacts and Information: http://hurlingham.alpha.structureit.net/media/48375/Region-B.pdf
Building regulations: 011 407 6111
Eskom: 086 003 7566